My first moments in Serbia…?

So after a day and a half of traveling I finally made it to Belgrade, Serbia! After getting off of the plane I was eager to dive right into my adventures and meet up with my group! I found two other girls in my group. 

All was going well util we realized that we really had no idea what to do…Our teachers only gave us a simple address of the dorm and that was it. We no phones. No information about to find our dorm. Where it was on the University campus. We pretty much had to wing it.

We ended up getting cab together, however our cab driver was clueless and didn’t speak any English. He ended dropping us on the side of road, near some random buildings on what I assumed was apart the University of Belgrade campus. Lugging our suit cases, back packs and carry ons we found a information booth. However that guy didn’t have a clue on what we were saying. Awesome. Thankfully some very friendly and helpful student asked if we needed help and took us to our dorm. We thanked him and check into a dorm room.

Once in the dorms, the women that was in charge of checking us in told us our room and that internet was broken. I thought to my self you have to be fucking kidding me…. (Also internet does exist any where on campus it is a serious struggle) However I ended up and meeting up with rest of the group and we explored the university area which isn’t so bad! The food and drink is pretty cheap and pretty tasty!

In all what I learned from my first day in Serbia: Is take a deep breath and calmly look at the obstacle  in front of you, not as travesty or as set back. Rather take as a part of journey and the human experience 

Leave a Reply

